|Arizona DUI & DWI Penalties, Fines, & Suspension
||24 hours to 10 days
||30 to 90 days
||At least 4 months
|Driver’s License Suspension
||90 days to 1 year
Chemical Test Refusal
Under Arizona’s implied consent law, a driver is required to take a chemical blood or breath test if an officer has probable cause that the driver is drunk driving.
1st offense: License suspension for 1 year
2nd offense: License suspension for 2 years
3rd offense: License suspension for 2 years
In Arizona, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) for any DUI conviction. This could be used as a compromise to regain license after is has been suspended due to a DUI charge. If a driver is convicted of an “aggravated DUI” due to factors such as committing a DUI while under suspension, receiving a third offense within 84 months or refusing a chemical test, the driver will automatically be required to install an IID in their vehicle. In all cases, the offender will be responsible for all costs that surround having an ignition interlock device.
A DUI will remain on your record for 7 years in the state of Arizona.
Arizona is considered a zero tolerance state when in regards to minors drinking and driving. If a driver under the age of 21 has a BAC over .00%, he or she can be subject to imprisonment for at least 24 hours up to 10 days, a fine up to $1,600 and a license suspension for 90 days up to 1 year. After a second conviction (within 7 years) the minor will be subject to imprisonment for 30 to 90 days, a fine up to $2,500 and a license suspension for 1 year.
DUI with a Child Passenger
If a driver is convicted of a DUI with a person under the age of 15 in the vehicle it is considered an “aggravated DUI” in Arizona. In addition to other DUI penalties, you will be sentenced to up to 2 years in prison, your licensed can be revoked for up to 3 years, you must install an ignition interlock device into your vehicle, and you must complete community service. Additionally, you will be required to undergo an alcohol related treatment or education program.
More on AZ DUI Laws:
Arizona Department of Transportation: https://www.azdot.gov/mvd/driver-services/driver-improvement/dui
Arizona Department of Public Safety: Overview on Arizona DUI laws: http://www.azdps.gov/information/impaired_driving/dui_laws/