Connecticut refers to drinking and driving related convictions as an OUI or operating under the influence. You can be arrested for an OUI if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater. An OUI arrest is a serious drunk driving crime that will result in fines and penalties as outlined below.
Legal limit in Connecticut:
- Standard, non-commercial drivers: 0.08% BAC
- Commercial drivers: 0.04% BAC
- Drivers under 21: 0.02% BAC
Penalties, Fines, & Suspension
|Connecticut OUI Penalties, Fines, & Suspension
||2 days to 6 months
||120 days to 2 years
||1 to 3 years
||$500 to $1,000
||$1,000 to $4,000
||$2,000 to $8,000
|Driver’s License Suspension
Chemical Test Refusal
Connecticut’s implied consent law states that, by driving, you have given your consent to a chemical test. This test is taken by blood, breath or urine to determine blood alcohol content. If someone refuses this test, they will be subject to a license suspension.
1st offense: 6 months license suspension
2nd offense: 1 year license suspension
3rd offense: 3 year license suspension
All alcohol related convictions in Connecticut will result in immediate installation of an IID or ignition interlock device in the offender’s vehicle. This device will act as a breathalyzer, preventing the car’s ignition to start without a legal BAC. The charts below specify how long an IID will be required for each circumstance.
How long does a OUI stay on your record? A OUI in Connecticut will remain on your personal criminal record for 10 years. During this time, a drinking and driving offense will remain relevant and could be used against you in a court of law.
Operating a vehicle under the influence and under the age of 21 will result in harsh penalties. After a first conviction, offenders will face a license suspension of 1 year. After a second conviction, offenders must either wait until they turn 21 to regain license or wait 3 years, whichever is longer. Any other offenses after that will result in a permanent revocation of license.
DWI with a Child Passenger
Child endangerment is a serious crime in Connecticut. Violators will suffer additional punishments to their OUI conviction if arrested with a minor in the car. These include a sentence from 30 days to 1 year, 100 hours of community service, undergo a treatment program as well as a fine from $500 to $2,000. Additional penalties could arise based on specific situation.
More on CT OUI laws:
Connecticut Department of Motor Vechicles: Drunk Driving Law: http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=813&q=249562