Minnesota DUI & DWI Laws
In Minnesota, a person can be arrested for a DUI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08% or higher. A DUI, or driving under the influence, is a drunk driving conviction where the BAC is above the state legal alcohol limit, rendering the driver legally impaired.
Legal limit in Minnesota:
- Standard, non-commercial drivers: .08% BAC
- Drivers under 21: Zero tolerance BAC
Penalties, Fines, & Suspension
|Minnesota DUI & DWI Penalties, Fines, & Suspension|
|Penalty||1st offense||2nd offense||3rd offense||4th offense|
|Sentence||Up to 90 days||Up to 1 year||Up to 1 year||Up to 7 years|
|Driver’s License Suspension||Up to 90 days||180 days||At least 1 year||Up to 4 years|
Chemical Test Refusal
Under Minnesota’s implied consent law, drivers are required to take a blood, breath or urine test if arrested for drinking and driving. Under any circumstance, if you do not agree to take a chemical test, you will face a license suspension for at least one year.
1st offense: License revocation for 1 year
2nd offense: License revocation for 1 year
3rd offense: License revocation for 1 year
First time DUI offenders with a BAC of .16 or higher, as well has second time offenders will have the option to regain their license suspension with the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle. This is the only option for these offenders to regain their driving privileges. This device will be put in place to enforce sober driving by requiring legal blood alcohol levels to start the car.
A DUI conviction will remain on Minnesota resident’s record for 10 years. Any other offenses convicted during this time period will be more severe in regards to penalties and punishments.
Minnesota is a zero tolerance state regarding minors drinking and driving. If you are under 21 and pulled over for drunk driving with any trace of alcohol in your BAC, you will be punished. If your BAC is under .08% you will suffer an automatic 30 day license suspension. If your BAC is any higher you will be subject to a jail sentence of 30 to 90 days, a fine up to 1,000 as well as a 90 day license suspension.
More on MN DUI Laws:
Minnesota House of Representatives: Overview of DWI laws: http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/pubs/DWIover.pdf