|Oregon DUI & DUI Penalties, Fines, & Suspension
||48 hours – 1 year
||Up to 1 year
||Up to 5 years
|Driver’s License Suspension
||License permanently revoked.
Chemical Test Refusal
Oregon is an “implied consent” state, which means that anyone with an Oregon driver’s license has agreed to take a chemical test, such as a breathalyzer, if arrested or stopped for a DWI. If you do not comply with the chemical test, the state can suspend a person’s driving privileges. All driver’s license are subject to driver’s license suspension for chemical test refusal is in addition to any punishment for the DUI conviction.
1st offense: 1 year driver’s license suspension; $500-$1,000 fine
2nd offense: 3 year driver’s license suspension; $500-$1,000 fine
3rd offense: 3 year driver’s license suspension; $500-$1,000 fine
In Oregon, drinking and driving offenders will be subject to a license suspension. An ignition interlock device may be required in order to regain driving rights. The IID device will be installed to a vehicle’s ignition requiring legal blood alcohol levels to drive the car.
A DUI conviction will remain on an offender’s criminal record for 5 years. If another drunk driving conviction occurs during this time, the offender will be subject to intensified fines and penalties.
Oregon has zero-tolerance for minors under the age of 21 drinking and driving. Any driver underage with a BAC above .00% will result in a sentence period from 2 days to 1 year, a fine ranging from $500 to $1,000 and a license suspension for up to 1 year. These penalties will increase with a second conviction within 10 years.
DWI with a Child Passenger
Receiving a DUI with a child passenger in the vehicle can add additional fines and punishments. Oregon law states if there is a passenger in the car under the age of 18 and at least 3 years younger than the driver at the time of a DUI arrest, then the offender is subject to a fine up to $10,000. The minor may also be charged for minor in possession (MIP), soliciting alcohol, false identification and/or other underage violations.
More on OR DUI Laws:
Oregon.gov – Suspensions and Revocations: https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/suspreasons.aspx